Council officers are paid staff members working for Mid Sussex District Council.

Please find details below for our chief council officers and divisional and business unit leaders.

Kathryn Hall

Kathryn Hall

Chief Executive

Judy Holmes

Judy Holmes

Deputy Chief Executive 

  • Community Services
  • Development Management (Planning)
  • Economic Development and Sustainability
  • Emergency Planning
  • Environmental Health
  • Planning Policy and Housing Enabling

Simon Hughes

Director – People and Commercial Services

  • Commercial Services and Contracts
  • Digital and People Services
  • Estate Services and Building Control
  • Parking
  • Revenues and Benefits
  • Waste, Leisure and Landscapes

Louise Duffield

Director – Resources and Organisational Development 

  • Communications and Community Engagement
  • Corporate Resources
  • Democratic Services and Elections
  • Finance
  • Human Resources and Organisational Development
  • Legal Services
  • Service Design

Assistant Directors

Job title 


Service Area 

Assistant Director Planning & Sustainable Economy  

Sally Blomfield  

Community Facilities 
Development Management   

Economic Development 
Planning Policy and Housing Enabling  


Assistant Director Communities   

Starting Jan 2023

Community Safety & Safeguarding 
Community Services 
Environmental Health (incl. Emergency Planning)  

Assistant Director Commercial Services & Contracts  

Rob Anderton  

Building Control 


Estates and Facilities 

Waste Services 

Assistant Director Digital & People Services  

Simon Jones  

Customer Services  

Digital & Technology  

Housing Options 
Revenues and Benefits 

Assistant Director Corporate Resources (S151 Officer) 

Rachel Jarvis

Audit and Treasury 
Land Charges 
Planning & Building Control Support   

Assistant Director Organisational Development  

Starting Nov 2022

Communications and Marketing  
Community Engagement & Development   

HR (incl. Payroll)   

Organisational Development    

Policy & Performance  

Programme & Project management  
Public Relations 

Service Redesign  

Assistant Director, Legal & Democratic Services & Monitoring Officer  

Geoff Wild (Interim)

Democratic Services and Elections 

Legal Services 

Last updated: 06 December 2022