Joint administration confirmed for Mid Sussex District Council

- 25/05/2023

Further to last night's Annual Council Meeting, please see the full release below announcing Cllr Robert Eggleston as Leader of Mid Sussex District Council. A minority joint administration has been formed between the Liberal Democrats and the Independent Group.

Please see the photo attached and please let us know if you need anything further. Please direct general enquiries to

Leader and cabinet members confirmed for Mid Sussex District Council

Councillor Robert Eggleston (Liberal Democrats) has been confirmed as Leader of Mid Sussex District Council.

At the May 24 annual council meeting it was confirmed that a joint administration formed between the Liberal Democrats and the Independent Group would govern the council.

Cllr Eggleston confirmed his cabinet as:

  • Cllr Alison Bennett (Liberal Democrats) – Deputy Leader of the Council, Cabinet Member for Communities and Communications
  • Cllr Ian Gibson (Independent) – Cabinet Member for Sustainable Economy and Housing
  • Cllr Anne-Marie Cooke (Liberal Democrats) – Cabinet Member for Finance
  • Cllr Chris Hobbs (Liberal Democrats) – Cabinet Member for Leisure and Customer Services

Cllr Eggleston will lead on the council’s District Plan, the Burgess Hill Town Centre re-development, and the Burgess Hill Growth Area.

Upon acceptance, Cllr Eggleston shared: “I would like to thank members for the trust they have placed in me. Being called to serve as Leader of Mid Sussex District Council is an honour and a privilege.

“Though our joint administration does not give us the majority, we are committed to working collaboratively with all parties to deliver our priorities. We recognise the challenges facing our communities and we will work together to provide stability whilst delivering on a  significant and important programme of work over the coming months and years.”

Cllr Ian Gibson, Leader of the Independent Group, added: “I’d like to congratulate the Liberal Democrats on their success. The residents of Mid Sussex indicated their wish for change, and I am pleased to work with Cllr Eggleston and all our members to deliver stable and effective leadership at a time when local government faces significant financial and operational pressures.”

It was also agreed that the new Chairman would be Cllr Rodney Jackson (Liberal Democrats) and the Vice Chairman would be Cllr Janice Henwood (Liberal Democrats).

For full details of the elected members, please visit: