How the Council is Run

Mid Sussex District Council produces a Corporate Plan each year that shows how it will deliver its services.  The Corporate Plan is developed in line with the key themes in the District's Sustainable Community Strategy and the Council's corporate priorities.

Our Priorities

The Council has adopted a new statement of main purpose, which reads:

To be an effective council delivering value for money services and helping to create a strong economy, environment and community.

There are also 4 new Council priorities:

  • Effective and responsive services
  • Sustainable economic growth
  • Strong and resilient communities
  • Financial independence


Flagship Activities for 2017/18

Effective and responsive services

The Council wishes to build on the performance of all of its services with a particular focus on further improving customer experience. Flagship activities for 2017/18 are:

  • Improving our customer service with more enquiries dealt with at the first point of contact.
  • Increasingly digitising our services to make them more customer-friendly by improving efficiency.

 Sustainable economic growth

The Council has an important role in supporting businesses, encouraging new ones and attracting inward investment. Flagship activities for 2017/18 are:

  • Progressing the Town Centre redevelopment at Burgess Hill.
  • Redevelopment of the station quarter at Haywards Heath including the opening of the new Waitrose store and also work on East Grinstead Town Centre.
  • Working towards the provision of new business parks at Burgess Hill.
  • Providing Economic Development grants to support business.
  • Production of a new Economic Development Strategy

 Strong and resilient communities

Continuing to work with partner organisations to build sustainable communities that will deliver a better quality of life for all. Flagship activities for 2017/18 are:

  • Continue to support our community through grants to local organisations.
  • Ensure that the “Think Family” community initiatives are delivered and supported.
  • Providing an effective Wellbeing Service that helps residents to make healthy lifestyle choices.
  • Enable the provision of 200 new affordable homes.
  • Supporting communities with new facilities and playgrounds, such as at Ansty recreation ground, Hickmans Lane, Lindfield and Finches Field, Pease Pottage.

 Financial Independence

Reduced Government financial support brings the need for robust management of budgets and maximising of income to be as financially self– sufficient as possible. Flagship activities for 2017/18 relate to the development of services and assets that will generate revenue for the Council such as:

  • the delivery of improvements to the leisure centres
  • extension of the green waste service to a further 2,000 users
  • making best use of our land and commercial property holdings.


The Council

The Council is run by 54 councillors, who are elected by the local community. Councillors are responsible for making decisions on behalf of the local community about local services, such as Refuse and Recycling collections.  

Each Councillor represents a specific area and serves for four years. The work of a Councillor includes holding surgeries to gather the views of local people, supporting local organisations, campaigning on local issues, and developing links with the community.  

Councillors are not paid a salary or wages but they are entitled to allowances and expenses to cover some of the costs of carrying out their public duties. For information see Members' Allowances page.

All Councillors abide by a code of conduct. They must declare any financial interests or gifts.  

The Leader

The Leader of the Council is elected by the full Council and the current Leader is Cllr Garry Wall.  

The Cabinet

The Cabinet is a select group of Councillors chosen by the Council Leader.

In addition to the Leader, there are five Councillors appointed to the Cabinet and each has a defined portfolio of responsibilities which are detailed on the Cabinet Members page.

The decisions of the Cabinet are monitored and scrutinised by the following Committees:  

Chief Officers

Kathryn Hall is the current Chief Executive and she is supported by a Management Team.