West Sussex County Council Election All Areas - 04/05/17

Elections to the West Sussex County Council will be held throughout the County of West Sussex on Thursday 4th May 2017.

Notice of Election

register to vote

Electoral Divisions

Mid Sussex will elect one Councillor to serve each of its 12 electoral divisions. The 12 County Council divisions are as follows:

  1. East Grinstead South & Ashurst Wood
  2. East Grinstead Meridian
  3. Imberdown
  4. Worth Forest
  5. Cuckfield & Lucastes
  6. Lindfield & High Weald
  7. Haywards Heath East
  8. Haywards Heath Town
  9. Hurstpierpoint & Bolney
  10. Burgess Hill North
  11. Burgess Hill East
  12. Hassocks & Burgess Hill South

The 12 electoral divisions are set by the Local Government Boundary Commission (LGBC) and by law they must conduct electoral boundary reviews. Following a recent boundary review a number of changes were made. Full details of the LGBC review findings and their final recommendations for parliament to approve, can be viewed at the LGBC website via this link: LGBC Final Recommendations - West Sussex

Polling Scheme

On Thursday 4th May 2017 there will be 79 polling stations operating throughout Mid Sussex: List of polling stations

Candidate nominations & timetable

Candidate nominations open on Monday 27th March 2017 for political parties and those wishing to stand as independent candidates:

The deadline for candidate nominations is 4th April 2017 at 4pm

A briefing for election agents and individuals considering standing for election was held at MSDC’s offices on Thursday 2nd March at 4.30pm.

For more information call our Electoral Services team on 01444 477222 or email: elections@midsussex.gov.uk