Warninglid, or Warninglyth, as it was known in the 1300s, has Saxon origins with mediaeval iron-industry connections. In the last 25 years it has won the Best-Kept Village competition three times and been runner-up on six other occasions. Its centre was the first of six conservation areas in Sussex.
The Church of St Andrew, built in 1932, has some of the finest examples of modern stained glass in the south of England. On the outskirts, old buildings like Bells Farm, Harveys Farm, Freechase Farm, Portways Farm and Routwood (reputedly with a ghost), all dating from the 15th and 16th centuries, have developed into charming houses in delightful rural settings.
The village has been watched over for the last 24 years by an active and vigilant amenity society.